1970 State Soccer Champions

70soccer)Nothing could slow the 1970 varsity soccer team–not the heavy rain that fell throughout the final game, not the ankle deep standing water on the field and least of all not St. Paul’s High School, their opponent in the final game.  Seven Locks players scored eight goals in the finals, and the defense earned yet another shutout.  The performance was so dominating that St. Paul only got the ball out of its half of the field five or six times during the game.  Coach Dan Sullivan called the ’70 team  “the finest team I’ve ever had”– tall praise from a coach that had already won two state championships.

Led by 23 goals from future All-American Mike O’Connor, and by the outstanding overall play of All- American halfback Howie Tersavich, the ’70 team had stars at every position including Ted Holmes, Steve Shapiro, Stan Swede, Paul Harvey, Ken Colli, and Earl Flick, all of whom scored in the final.  The team lost only one game all season, a loss it avenged when it beat E.O Smith 3-0 in the tournament semi-final.

Remarkably, the defense anchored by Steve Farr, Mark Dennis, Jim Perry, Tersavich and goaltender Steve Scheerer, gave up only three goals all season.

WLHS has had its share of state championship titles in soccer.  Few could argue that the 1970 team was the best team ever.


1970 Team Members: Steve Scheerer (co-captain), Ken Colli, Paul Harvey, Mike O’Connor, Stan Swede, Steve Farr, Steve Shapiro, Mark Dennis, Howie Tersavich (co-captain), Ken Nigro, Earle Flick, Terry Jubrey, Paul Sullivan, Roland Nadeau, Jim Parry, Charlie Urso, Matt Dominski, Don Yiznitsky, Dan McNamara, Rick Oliveira, Rusty Mattesen, Rick Tersavich, Jim Jackson, Joe Flynn, Jack Gaylord, George Trantalis, Bobby Lash, John Sherman, Glenn Bascetta, Bill Woodward.

Head Coach—Dan Sullivan; Assistant Coach—Jim McKenna.

Managers—John Magnani, Brian Squires, Bob Oliveira

est 2005